Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Ahhhh

I keep having dreams about tagging. I need to get me some paint already. Shout out to my blackbook that has been sitting on my desk for the past month.

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Way overdue

As I'm sitting here waiting for my colleague to show up so we could get some work done I figured I would take this time to update my blog. I have neglected it so. I'm a terrible blogger, aren't I?

And as always I have no idea where to start. Hmmm, the essentials:
I'm tired. I am super tired. I even got coffee this morning to wake me up and that was about 30 minutes ago and it still hasn't kicked in yet. Wait, wait, there it goes. I think I can actually function now.

Well, as you all know, it is December now. I'm glad it is, I am just have a hard time believing it still. And, following true San Antonio weather, there is supposed to be snow on Friday. About 70-80%. Crazy, because about two weeks ago it was too warm for a hoodie. I'm anxious to see how its gonna go though. Last year it "snowed" kind of. We just got to see the flurries before the hit the ground and melted in .3 seconds.

So like I said, its December, also meaning that school is almost out. I have one week of finals left and then I'm done. I get to pick up extra hours at work and make my $$$$$. Fun? I actually really enjoy my job. Unheard of usually but I don't know what it is. I think maybe its just the fact of me making money again.

Good news, my sister got into TCU. It doesn't surprise me because she's a genius. I'm just super jealous because they're colors are purple, black and white, oh and PURPLE! I'm going on a campus visit with her soon so I can purchase all the purple stuff I want. Even if I don't go to that school.

Bad news, my other sister is failing 4 classes. How?! I can let maybe 1 slide for her because she's adjusting to a new school but 4?! She was actually failing 5 until a teacher caught a slip up in her grading. Regardless, I yelled at her. I wish she was motivated. She's one of those gals that thinks school is for socializing and nothing more. I don't know how to get it through her head that my mom is actually paying for this school and if she fails they'll kick her out. Kids man.

In conclusion, I'm still sitting here by myself drinking my coffee and waiting for my friend. Oh my, he's here. Impeccable timing.

Friday, October 23, 2009

Neglect, New Music, Old Friends, Punishment

Shit happens. Shit fucking happens. I know this, you know this, we all know this. And yet here I am wallowing like a damn fool. But whatever, life goes on.

September was a bad month. In fact, a horrible month. Why you ask? Because 1) my great aunt on my dad's mom's side died, 2) my great aunt on my dad's dad's side died, and 3) my grandpa died. BAD MONTH! So much death within the span of 3 weeks. Oh, and on top of that, my friend's little sister had a freaking stroke. I bet you're wondering exactly how old she is right about now. She's 10. I know, I KNOW. That's some insane, freak accident kind of stuff. The doc said that it happens to about 10% of kids or something like that. She's a freaking statistic. Well, when you think about we all are.

Damn! I've been finding so much new music. And of course, its mostly hip hop. Now, please don't get it twisted. I still listen to rock and I always tell people that was my origin but I say, if you were a true lover a music then you can adapt to anything and everything. Which is true in my case, I mean I can't really talk for everyone but that's the way I see it. So anyway, I'm deeply into the hip hop culture right now. And Tracy Morgan is right, there really "aint' no music like hip hop music". There's just something about it that makes me connect with it so well. Anyways, lots of mixtapes, lots of albums, lots of HIIIIP HOPPPPPP!

I have no idea what it is about this past month of October but I have connected with a lot of old friends that I haven't talked to in a long time. Let's see, some from high school, some from elementary (private) school, and then my old neighbors growing up. I'm not gonna complain. I will never complain about friends. Nobody ever wants to be alone.

Anywho, just an update on where the hell I've been hiding and shiz. Tomorrow's post will be all about hip hop and the culture I am so lost in right now. Pictures included.

Friday, October 9, 2009

Sweet Jesus, I have neglected this thing. I swear, when I'm done with bowling tonight I will make a proper entry.

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

In loving memory

It was around this time on August 27, 2007 when I couldn't keep it together anymore, and it was because I had just found out the day before that one of my good friends had died. Monday morning on the second week of my freshman year at college and I was miserable.

I don't know if anyone has ever experienced death and I don't ever wish it on anyone but if the person was a true friend and had true meaning in your life like Mike then you understand that its like losing part of your soul.

You see, Mike was more than a friend to me, he felt like my big brother. We were always looking out for each other. We could talk forever about cars, trucks, bikes, anything really while throwing back some cold ones and we would never get tired of each other. We would just laugh and laugh and laugh and would never come across rough moments.

My favorite memories will forever be when we would go over to his mom's house. I would call her Uela (R.I.P.) and she would call me Little Sara or Sarita. She made me feel at home, she made me feel like I was part of the family, and the first time I went over Mike told me "Wow, its like you're a long lost family member." Yeah, people always say I get along with everyone and that I just know a lot of people but it was always different with them. It was like we were all meant to meet and be a part of each others lives.

What do I miss the most? His laugh. It was a genuine, deep, happy laugh that was contagious. He had some bad times in his life so you know when he laughed he meant it and he cherished it.

I can honestly say that he made me a better person. He taught me that I shouldn't care what other people think of me, that I am the one that controls how I feel, and that I don't need to take shit from anyone and that I can say something about it when it's not right, "What are we in kindergarten? Say something!"

Mike, not a day goes by that I don't think about you. I miss you so much bro. I know you're probably shaking your head right now and calling me a pansy for crying haha. Your friendship meant a lot to me and I wish we could hang out one more time at Uela's but I know y'all are living (and drinking) the High Life in a better place.

Up and down that road
In our worn out shoes
Talkin' 'bout good thangs
And singin' the blues

You went your way
And I stayed behind
We both knew
It was just a matter of time

Livin' a dream
As though you're on top
My mind is achin'
And Lord it won't stop

That's how it happens
Livin' life by the drop

No waste of time
I'm alive today
Turnin' up the past
There's no easier way

Time's been between us
A means to an end


God, it'll be be good to be there
Walkin' together my friend

Livin' our dream




Rest in Peace

Mike Margarito Rodriguez
February 28, 1978 - August 26, 2007
free as a bird now

I love you, I miss you

And give Uela a kiss for me!

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

rock and roll ain't noise pollution



If you don't appreciate this video then you're not a true music lover. Yup, I said it.

Monday, August 24, 2009

Pandora is my savior.

New Tunes

I need new music. I crave it. I'm so sick and tired of listening to the same stuff. Granted, it's all good but I just know that there is much more out there that I need to look into. I need to get crackin'. How do people discover new music? More importantly, how do you discover new music?

Sunday, August 23, 2009

You know, I think I'm just gonna leave my blog these colors. Only because I'm tired of editing right now. It'll probably grow on me.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

So I'm just gonna say it. Hot damn! I'm gonna say it. After 4 years of wasting my life away, I'm single. All the single ladies!

Friday, July 31, 2009

So, I bowl a lot. Yes, like a freak. Its just something I enjoy, one of my hobbies, passes the time, sort of a work out, and like I said, I genuinely enjoy it. Not only the sport but also the people that I always meet.

Why this post though? Because my dad took it upon himself to sign me up for a tournament tomorrow. I've been working on my form and all that and hopefully tomorrow I do well and place/get a PRIZE! I've been bowling in the 190s lately so, if that doesn't get me anywhere nothing will.

In other news, I almost bought a Slick Rick the Ruler shirt the other day but they only had it in white. And I only wear....shirts that aren't white.

Everyone needs a little (good) hip hop in their life, "Ain't no music like hip hop music!"

Thursday, July 30, 2009



I got a new phone and being the firm believer that all touch screen phones suck I must say that its growing on me.
Its actually pretty sweet and easy to use. Now I just need to accustom my fat fingers to hit all the keys right.
On a safety note, I can't even begin to try to text on this phone while I'm driving so, rest assured fellow San Antonio drivers, Sara Rios will no longer text while driving. Now if only everyone else would follow suit huh?



I'm peeved. I'm freakin' peeved. I always say that I'm gonna take my camera with me everywhere I go but I never do cause I get scared that I'm gonna mess it up or something. So, I'm gonna stop being a pansy and try to start taking it everywhere and post a picture every time I post. Get excited fool.

Oh oh oh oh ohhhhhhh, and also, on my phone, I downloaded the Super Mario Bros. Soundpack so every text is an extra life.

Anyway, I'm gonna see how this phone treats me and if I'm gonna shake my I-can-only-use-physical-qwerty-keyboard-phones mindset.

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

The heat around San Antonio, Texas has been excruciating. I don't want to say its bearable but I get through my days. Miserably, but I get through it. Funny story actually, my mom, my sisters, and I decided to go to the gym the other day and try out the Sauna and as soon as I walked in I was like yeah, this is what it feels like outside. Seriously, I didn't even feel a difference. And if there was one it was by maybe +4 degrees. FOUR MEASLY DEGREES!

I say it all the time and I'll say it again: I don't know how I put up with this heat but I will never live anywhere else but San Antonio. I love it too much. Judge me.

Oh, what did I do at work today you ask? I watched the Michael Jackson memorial. I mean, I already knew I was going to cry like a baby because ever since I heard of his passing I have been taking it really hard. Don't ask me why. I don't know, but it feels like I lost a family member, a close family member. Its just sad, and I can't describe it. So anyway, I was watching the memorial and throughout the entire thing I was teary eyed but I didn't start bawling until Paris talked at the end. SHIT! That was the roughest thing I've ever had to hear in a while. It doesn't matter who it is, famous or not, it is always hard to lose a parent.

In other news, I'm stressed the fuck out because of all the work that I have to do before school starts.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

"Don't ever make someone you're priority when they make you they're option."

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

I am nervous. I am so nervous because I don't have control over a few things right now and I just need to be already.

And what am I talking about exactly? My house. Yup, I'm supposed to move into our pool house soon. Well actually I was supposed to move in there when I was 17 but shit happens.

My grandpa has been staying back there but he has been complaining all day, everyday that he wants to go home already and that he just wants to get out of here. Its actually perfect because once he is out I get to go back there with my dad and start repairing, cleaning, and painting. Yup, you heard it right, I'm gonna have a shag pad.

It has been so nerve wrecking looking for furniture for my house. I never knew it was so difficult, not to mention EXPENSIVE. Good thing I have a job and an internship now or else I'd be furnitureless.

I wish my sisters were out of school already. Technically one is in summer school already but hey it's school, and hey I'm still annoyed that she's still super busy with her work. My other sister is starting high school next year. High school dude. I remember when I started high school. I was so scared and little but you know, it doesn't seem that long ago. Although, college doesn't seem that long ago either. Time flies when you're having...fun. Hah, fun.

I'm super excited! Today after work I get to go see my good childhood friend from Castle Hills elementary, and well, we went to middle school and high school together too, Nichole Gover about the kitten I'm getting. I'm a sucker for animals and an even bigger sucker for baby animals. I'm leaning towards the all white one or the all creme one. They are so cute. I wanted a boy but I don't really care at this point. I want a boy and my boyfriend wants a girl, even though he already has a girl cat.

WHERE THE DEUCE IS ERIC GORS?! He was here for like 2 days and said he was going to Cali and would be right back in about a week. Well yo man, its been longer than a week and I'm mad as hell. I want to share the excitement of my new kitty because it might be a white one like his, Spotty.

And on the note of something downstairs sounding like an elephant, I shall catch you on the flip side.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Oprah

I haven't written in here for a while it seems.

Its summer and I have so much to do....still.

I got my grades today and although they're not bad they could be a lot better. I just hate being average. My boyfriend said he's still getting me a reward though :) I love him.

My best friend is coming home from Switzerland on Monday and I am so happy. I have missed him so much.

I NEED TO WRITE MY PENPAL BACK BECAUSE I'M SURE BY NOW HE THINKS I'M A LAZY AMERICAN.

I want to work this summer and I was thinking PetCo but my dad was thinking an internship at Southwest Research. Ummmmm.

I've been working out every day since summer has started and you know, it isn't all that bad.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Also, I plan on learning the entire Japanese language this summer. Since, you know, I never finished because my professor got deported in the beginning of the second semester.

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

I wish I had something meaningful to write right now but I really don't.

I really want to get healthy. Meaning I need to stop eating like shit and start working out even more. I've been working out Mondays and Wednesdays for the past....oh I don't know...month?
And I was also occasionally working out on Tuesdays and Thursdays with my sister but then we both got swamped with school work and stopped. She said she wants to start up again after May 8 which is actually perfect cause that is the last day of the semester for me! FUCK. YES.

This semester has been a joke. I seriously feel like I just coasted through and now its over. Sure, I learned a bunch of neat tid-bits but, I don't know, it just feels so rushed and well, over. I technically have 2 more weeks of school left and I have so much shit to do it is so stressful.

It was my Grandma's birthday today and she turned 70. And you know where she wanted to go for dinner? Red Lobster. Fancy fancy, considering she NEVER treats herself to anything. I wanted to go but of course my ol' reliable family decided not to answer their phones.

My boyfriend asked me the other day what I would rather have: A camera (Canon EOS Rebel blah blah blah) or a 32' Samsung TV. I said camera and he shit bricks so I had to play it off and say "Oh honey, I was just joshing. That TV of course." I've been wanting that camera since I can remember.

Note to self: write your freaking pen pal back already.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

I was five and he was six
We rode on horses made of sticks
He wore black and I wore white
He would always win the fight

Bang bang, he shot me down
Bang bang, I hit the ground
Bang bang, that awful sound
Bang bang, my baby shot me down

Seasons came and changed the time
When I grew up, I called him mine
He would always laugh and say
"Remember when we used to play?"

Bang bang, I shot you down
Bang bang, you hit the ground
Bang bang, that awful sound
Bang bang, I used to shoot you down

Music played and people sang
Just for me the church bells rang

Now he's gone. I don't know why
And till this day, sometimes I cry
He didn't even say goodbye
He didn't take the time to lie

Bang bang, he shot me down
Bang bang, I hit the ground
Bang bang, that awful sound
Bang bang, my baby shot me down

Monday, April 13, 2009

I got drunk the other night and I made the mistake of drinking the trash can punch shit. My advice would be to never drink it, even if it was your last resort. It is exactly what it says it is, trash.

My friends gave me a baby bottle of jager for my birthday and I haven't opened it since. I took it to this party so it could get some action and nobody touched it. I don't even think they looked at it. It must be a sign from God; that this baby bottle of jager is meant for my friends and I only.

I had a good Easter. I heard a bunch of stories about my family and learned a lot about my history. Not to mention, I found out where my family gets their light skin and light eyes from. Our great great grandfather was a blond haired blue eyed Spaniard. Nice. That's just on my mom's side. We have English on my dad's side so Lord knows what we got from them. We're mutts!

A builder and plan is under way as of today meaning that I'll be moving into my house very very soon.

Snatch always puts me in a better mood, "Oy, I thought you said he was a get-away driver. What the fuck can he get away from eh?!"

Monday, April 6, 2009

Do you ever come home after a long day and just feel like bumping some smooth hip hop?

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Maybe....Not

I'm gonna be honest, I initially made this to talk about music but at this point I don't think that's what its going to be about, solely at least. For sure, I'll throw in a line (or two) every now and then about some super sick beats or something of the sort.

But anyways, back to my random thoughts:
There was this really annoying little boy in church today. HOLD UP! I know, I went to church. Good thing in this day and age these blogs have the time and date stamp on them. Now lets see how long it takes me to go again. Yeah, back to the spawn of satan sitting in front of me. He was a brat yo. He was jumping all over the pew (wow I spelled pew right) and his mom was trying to shut him up with sugar....best mother of the year award right there.

I went to church today because my dad went on an ACTS retreat, its not like I went just cause I felt like it. I haven't had that feeling about a holy institution in a long time. So my dad is a changed person from what I can tell so far. He says God or Jesus in every sentence since I've seen him and he's all chipper and has a spunk in his step.

My grandma came to see him come back today too and you know, I hope everyone has at least half the amount of fun I have with my grandma. She's hilarious. Sometimes I wonder if she is where I get my humor from. I would need a whole other post just for her so maybe I'll get to that soon. I'll tell you one tid-bit though, she was plotting to steal a baby. All she kept saying was "I want that baby, she's so cute. I want THAT baby." And I definitely wasn't going to stop her cause I don't like ruining her fun.

Do you watch Bill Maher? I don't love him but I don't hate him. No doubt he has an opinion but I actually sat down and watched an episode of his show - mostly because his special guest was Mos Def. Apparently he always gets guests that have an intelligent spoken word and he always has commentary which is pretty much what I always say, "Fuck that *puta!"
*optional

Last but not least, my friend's mother is making me dinner tonight and it's my favorite: Raviolis.
I'm looking forward to it seeing as my step mom has denied all of her domestic duties as a woman.

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Inspiration

although, I think the lyrics posted EVERYWHERE are wrong.
I'll just have to say the song name and who its by - I really hope a lot of
people know it because its pretty wonderfur - ok here it is:
The Truth by Handsome Boy Modeling School. I'm obsessed, word.

You know what I'm tired of? Obese children. Every time I see them I just
think of how unfair it is that their parents are killing them and they don't
even know it. Damn shame and its wrong like 2 left shoes. Smh.